SMUGGLER Director Fenn O’Meally Returns With Poetic Short “Kiin”

The short stars Tamara Lawrence and Letitia Wright and is a companion piece to the larger cinematic world of “Silent Twins.”

SMUGGLER Director Fenn O'Meally Returns With Poetic Short

SMUGGLER director Fenn O’Meally’s latest film, a poetic short titled “KIIN”, stars Tamara Lawrence and Letitia Wright. Born as a companion piece to the larger cinematic world of “Silent Twins” directed by Agnieszka Smoczynska, O’Meally drew inspiration from the main pillars that run through the feature film and in her piece, focuses on the power of the poem using words incorporated from the twins’ writing and performance. The stylistic choices to have spoken words and choreographed elements prominent in the film add to the evocative and tender heart of the story.

The feature film ‘Silent Twins’, based on the lives of June and Jennifer Gibbon, explores their unique bond and the adversity they faced growing up in 1960s Wales. O’Meally first was approached by Focus Features to work on stills for the project, but after forming a relationship with stars Tamara and Letitia, they began the early stages of ‘KIIN’ by discussing the unique and powerful experience the cast had playing June and Jennifer. From a visit to the set in Poland, O’Meally and executive producer Elizabeth Doonan developed the idea to create a short film. Produced by Cora Rodriguez and beautifully captured on film by Patrick Golan, James Willam Blades’ stunning soundscape truly expands on the visual, incorporating haunting vocals from friend and O’Meally collaborator Jorja Smith. The film is immersive, touching and stays with you, principles familiar in all of O’Meally’s work.

“Silent Twins” and “KIIN” will have a digital release on NOWNESS on Thursday and a special screening in New York on September 13 with a UK screening scheduled for December.

“I feel extremely lucky to have had a part to play in the release of Silent Twins. After spending time with Letitia, Tamara and Aga in Poland and seeing how much they gave unconditionally to this story, I been incredibly inspired, their talent truly goes beyond what you see on screen. Being surrounded by such powerfully creative minds has given me so much fuel to drive the outreach of this film forward. Focusing on Caribbean heritage, the film is navigated via a poem written by Letitia and Tamara, accompanied by the celestial voice of Jorja Smith and investigates the sixth sense in the twins’ relationship.

see more – Creative

Sign up for our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and the latest advertising news from around the world.

SILENT TWINS

“Poetry written and arranged by Letitia Wright and Tamara Lawrance, with words incorporated from the writing of
June and Jennifer Gibbons

Director: Fenn O’Meally @fenn_omeally

Production company : SMUGGLER @smugglersite

Executive producer: Elizabeth Doonan @elizabethdoonan

Producer: Cora Rodriguez @corarodriguezl

Production director: Luca Chapman @_lucachapman

Location Manager: Rupert Bowkett @bowkett

1st AD: Tom Wynborne

Runner: Tammy Siddik @tammysiddik

Runner: Sam Mines @sammines

Runner: Yemi Adegbulu @_yemix

Runner: Lina Portnova @mr.yunioshi

Runner: James Williams

PDO: Patrick Golan @packdrawn

Operator: Toby Goodger @tobygoodgerdop

Focus puller: Mark Gee @markacgee; Marcus Albertsen @marcusalbertsen

Clamshell charger: Kiloran Mclaren @kiloranmclaren; Jack Plumridge @whenswrap

Camera trainee: Joshua Ighodaro @j_ighodaro; Bradley Panda @bradley_panda

Steadicam Operation: Jake Whitehouse @jakewhitehouse___; Josh Brooks @steadibrooks

Sound recorder: Matt Greig @apologreig

Blunderer: Laurent Arnaud @Sparkswars

Electrician: Amarjeet Singh @amarjeet_sh

Electrical trainee: George Wright @georgeowright

Clothing stylist: Ai Kamoshita @aikamoshita

Wardrobe assistant: Lulu Bullock @lulu__malibu; Brie Moreno

Hairdresser: Ben Talbert; Muriel Cole @coleunique1

Hairdressing assistant: Kash Bishop @kashbishophair

Makeup artist: Porsche Poon @porschepoon

Make-up assistant: Joe Brooks @joebrookks

Foundry: Unit C @unit_c

Casting Director: Tytiah Blake @tytiah

Featured actors:

Letitia Wright

Tamara Lawrance

Devontay Ricardo Graham @devontay_dev
Dijon André Graham @dijon_dej_

Agency: Anti Agency @antiagenceldn

Viviane Mills

Horace Moulins

Sharnez Ritchie @iamsharnez
Sharlotte Richie @sharlotteritchie

Agency: Je Management @jemodel

To note: Richard Fearon @richardfearon at Black Kite Studios

Editor: Toby Heard @tobyheard

Change producer: Thomas Viney @pundersonsgardens

Rating: James William Blades @jameswilliamblades

Vocal: Jorja Smith @jorjasmith_

Sound Effects/Mix: James William Blades @jameswilliamblades

Chart: Eddie Mandel

Animals: A/C Birds; Animals @birdsandanimalsuk

Animal handler: Tim Jenkins

Animal handler: Yuka Fukushima

Medic/Covid test: Wayne Sturt

Minibus driver: Terry Gisbourne

Restoration: Canababes @canababes

Camera equipment: Arri @arri

Film: Kodak @kodak

Filming equipment: Get Set Hire @getsetire

Lighting: SHL Film Lighting @shlfilmlighting

Genres: Narration

Categories: Short films and music videos, Short films

London smuggler, Fri 16 Sep 2022 08:34:00 GMT